7 comments on “Restoring Photoshop Settings

  1. Thanks for the very informative post!
    Too make one long history short, I need to restore my preferences and actions from backup files.
    The issue I’m finding is to access the hidden files from the backup (in an external drive).
    When I use the go to access hidden files, it shows me the ones in my Mac HD.
    Is there any way I can access those hidden files from the backup?
    Thank you for any advise 🙂

    Like

    • Hi, I’m no that familiar with Mac backups but are you able to restore the whole folder rather than just individual files, that way you don’t need to see the hidden files in the backup.

      Like

  2. Thanks a ton man. This is exactly what I needed. Just to further improve the search-ability of this article, let me explain exactly my problem and exactly how I fixed it.

    I recently needed to upgrade from Windows Vista 64 to Windows 8.1 (I know, I keep jumping over the popular releases), and I needed a way to migrate my preferences and presets from one Photoshop installation to another.

    I did make some preparations including backing up my while C drive to a removable hard drive,
    I forgot to backup my Photoshop presets so I could not use the usual preset manager to complete this project. I would also be upgrading from Photoshop CS6 to Photoshop CC 2014.

    I thought I was up a creek until I found your post.
    Fortunately, I had backed up the user directory.
    The solution was to copy the files here:

    F:\Users\my_user_name\AppData\Roaming\Adobe\Adobe Photoshop CS6\Adobe Photoshop CS6 Settings

    to here:

    C:\Users\my_user_name\AppData\Roaming\Adobe\Adobe Photoshop CC 2014\Adobe Photoshop CC 2014 Settings

    I moved Brushes, actions, patterns and gradients with no comparability issues from Photoshop CS6 to Photoshop CC 2014.

    Thanks for your help!

    Like

      • Man, I’ve been fine-tuning my brushes for a decade. I backed up last time I rebuilt my PC, but I would’ve literally lost years worth of optimization and a whole bunch of awesome brushes I’ve designed or collected… It would have been a huge setback for me.

        Like

      • I know what you mean, I am the same with my actions and there have been many times when Photoshop has crashed & lost all of them. Without having backups and being able to restore them I would have lost so much.

        Like

Leave a Reply

